Community invited to have a say on 2020 school names

Victorian communities are being invited to have their say on the naming of 10 new government schools opening in their local areas in 2020, as community consultation on these new schools gets underway across the state.

Victorian Minister for Education James Merlino announced that community members can vote for their preferred name for a local school opening in 2020 and provide feedback via an online survey on Engage Vic.

The Victorian Government is seeking the community’s input to help find a name for each school that reflects its unique identity, inspires local pride and that makes the school easily locatable.

New schools will open in 2020 in Ballarat, Casey, Greater Dandenong, Greater Geelong, Hume, Mitchell and Wyndham. The schools, which are currently known by their interim names, include:

  • Armstrong Creek West Primary School
  • Botanic Ridge Primary School
  • Casey Fields (Five Ways) Primary School
  • Clyde North East Primary School
  • Craigieburn South Secondary School
  • Davis Creek Primary School
  • Keysborough South Primary School
  • Lucas Primary School
  • Point Cook South Senior Secondary School
  • Wyndham South (Riverwalk) Primary School

A new school campus for Beveridge Primary School is also under construction and will open in 2020. The shortlisted names for each school were selected by a School Advisory Group, based on factors including public interest, relevance to the local area, and the consideration of local indigenous languages.

These new schools are part of the Victorian Government’s school building boom that will see 100 new government schools open by 2026.

The Government has invested $5.6 billion in improving, upgrading and building schools to ensure that every community can access a great local school where students can achieve their best.

Source: Vic Government