Monitors appointed to Darebin, Moira and Wodonga councils

The municipal monitor appointments at Darebin City Council, Moira Shire Council and Wodonga City Council have been formalised.

Minister for Local Government Shaun Leane announced John Watson will serve as monitor at Darebin City Council, Marg Allan at Moira Shire Council and Janet Dore at Wodonga City Council.

During their term, each monitor will work closely with their respective council to improve governance practices and help councillors ensure they are performing their roles in accordance with the Local Government Act 2020.

Mr Watson and Ms Dore will also support Darebin and Wodonga Councils respectively in the recruitment of new CEOs.

The monitors will be in place until the end of January 2023, provide regular progress reports to the Minister and recommend any further actions as necessary.

Each of the three municipal monitors appointed has expertise and considerable experience within the local government sector.

Darebin City Council municipal monitor Mr Watson is Chair of the Victorian Local Government Grants Commission and a Director of Northern Health and the Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group.

He has considerable experience in the local government sector and is a former Executive Director of Local Government Victoria.

Moira Shire Council municipal monitor Ms Allan is a member of the Victorian Local Government Grants Commission and has a deep understanding of local government, significant executive and board experience and a strong commitment to the sector.

Wodonga City Council municipal monitor Ms Dore is currently the municipal monitor for Strathbogie Shire Council and was the municipal monitor at Ararat City Council from 2017 until 2019.

The Victorian Government is improving council culture throughout the state, last year conducting a wide-ranging study into what influences council culture as part of the Local Government Culture Project.

The project will provide a platform for the sector to identify and take ownership of a positive and inclusive culture that will improve governance and build public trust, with key themes and advice to be provided to the Minister for consideration.

Source: Vic Government