100 years of women in local government celebrated

2020 is significant for women in local government as it marks 100 years since the first woman was elected to a local government in Western Australia.

In 1920, Councillor Elizabeth Clapham was elected to the Town of Cottesloe and served one term on the council from 1920 to 1922.

Elizabeth Clapham paved the way for Edith Cowan, the first woman to be elected to an Australian Parliament (WA) a year after.

The 2019 local government elections saw an increase of 22 per cent of women councillors, and the State Government wants to ensure this positive trend continues.

A key priority for the State Government is women in leadership and increased rates of women in elected positions in State and local governments.

Local Government Minister David Templeman spoke at an event organised by the Australian Local Government Women’s Association – Western Australian Branch in Cottesloe which marked the occasion.

Source: WA Government