New and improved parking at regional train stations

The Victorian Government is improving accessibility and safety at train stations across regional Victoria with new and upgraded car parks to ensure Victorians can get to where they need to go.

Ace Infrastructure has been awarded the contract to design and build 440 new and upgraded spaces across Kyneton, Gisborne, Riddells Creek, North Shore and Beaufort stations.

Once the works are complete, Bendigo Line passengers will benefit from 200 car parking spaces, including additional accessible car parking, and 35 new bicycle hoops.

One hundred spaces will be upgraded at Gisborne Station, which includes four accessible spaces, and 50 new spaces will be built at both Kyneton and Riddells Creek stations including accessible spaces.

At North Shore Station a total of 200 new and upgraded spaces will be delivered. Beaufort Station will gain 40 new spaces, including two new accessible spaces, and 15 new bicycle hoops.

All the new and upgraded car parks will be covered by CCTV and lighting for safety and security.

The community was invited to provide feedback on concept designs for all the car parks through the Engage Victoria platform last year. The feedback received will help inform the final designs.

Civil construction company Ace Infrastructure has significant experience in delivering station car parks, having previously constructed car parks at several locations including Sandown Park, Hurstbridge and Castlemaine. Ace Infrastructure also delivered previous car park upgrades at Kyneton and Gisborne stations.

The new and upgraded car parking is being delivered by VicTrack through the Victorian Government’s Car Parks for Commuters program – building and upgrading car parks at stations to make it easier to catch the train.

Since 2014 almost 14,000 new and upgraded parking spaces have been delivered at stations across the state, and the Government is on track to deliver an additional 7,000 spaces.

For more information on the Car Parks for Commuters program visit

Source: Vic Government