Nominations open for local government’s most prestigious award

Nominations are now open for 2019’s AR Bluett Memorial Award – widely acknowledged as the greatest accolade a council can achieve and the 75th year for which the awards have been presented.

Presented annually since 1945, the awards recognise relative progress by LGNSW member councils, ensuring every council receives due consideration for its achievements irrespective of size or resources.

“I encourage every council in NSW to seize the opportunity to enter this year’s (2019) awards and gain recognition for the great work they are doing,” AR Bluett Trust Chairman Les McMahon said.

“Too often, the overall achievements of local government go unrecognised, which can lead to unfair criticism of the sector – the AR Bluett Awards go a long way towards rectifying this.”

LGNSW President Cr Linda Scott said councils were the bedrock of local communities and it was important to celebrate their dedication to their work.

“I have the great privilege of seeing first-hand the diversity and quality of work being achieved by local government when I visit councils across the state,” Cr Scott said.

“Councils make things happen in their communities – and we want to hear more about them so councils can follow in the footsteps of 2018 award winners Fairfield and Narrabri Shire, and the highly commended City of Canterbury Bankstown.”

The awards commemorate Alfred Robert Bluett, who served 30 years as the secretary and solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Association of NSW.

As an authority on local government law, Mr Bluett was instrumental in drafting the state’s first Local Government Act in 1919.

There are two categories: one for city, metropolitan and major regional councils, and another for all other rural and country councils.

The awards include the Stephen Ward Scholarship, a grant of up to $2,500 made to at least one employee from each of the award-winning councils.

Entries close on Wednesday 31 July 2019. Winners will be announced during the LGNSW Annual Conference (at Warwick Farm in Sydney, 14-16 October 2019).

The AR Bluett Memorial Award is judged by trustees Les McMahon, Allan Ezzy AM APM and Cr Mike Montgomery AM.

For more information and to enter visit the LGNSW website or contact AR Bluett Memorial Trust Chairman Les McMahon on 0412 303 719.

Source: LGNSW