New vet board members to deliver expert care

The Victorian Government has appointed new members to the Veterinary Practitioners Registration Board of Victoria to oversee the performance of Victoria’s veterinarians, ensuring animals across the state have access to the best possible care.

Victorian Minister for Agriculture Jaclyn Symes announced the new appointments to the board, which provides public confidence and protects the welfare of animals by making sure Victoria’s vets are qualified and abide by standards of professional conduct.

Six new members have been appointed to the Board, including four vets, a lawyer and a business expert – while three existing members have returned to serve for another three years.

The new appointments provide the Board with a broad range of skills, expertise and experience in the field of veterinary science, the law and business.

As well as recognising veterinary qualifications, the Board investigates complaints made against registered veterinarians, imposes disciplinary measures where appropriate and keeps the Minister informed about the state of vet care in Victoria

Professor Edward Whittem, Professor and Chair of Veterinary Clinical Sciences at The University of Melbourne, has been appointed as the new President of the Board.

Dr Katherine Clarke, Dr Charles Blackwood, Dr Fiona Hendrie, Ms Raelene Harrison and Ms Ellen Kittson make up the other new Board members – while returning members include Dr Tracey Bradley, new Deputy President Dr David Colson and Ms Kathryn Johns. All members will serve until June 2022.

The Minister would like to thank the outgoing Board members for their contributions, dedication and stewardship, including Professor Peter Mansell, President, and Dr David Beggs, Deputy President.

Source: Vic Government