Bemboka Waste Transfer Station open for business

Bemboka Waste Transfer Station open for business

Bemboka’s Waste Transfer Station will re-open on 26 September 2020 and return to its regular operating hours of Saturdays, from 10am to 2.30pm.

The transfer station was affected by the summer bushfires and was closed as a result. With priorities around the bushfire clean-up starting to ease, staff have been able to focus on re-opening the Bemboka site, including new fencing and signage, and removal of contamination resulting from exposed asbestos and illegally dumped waste.

Once opened, the site will provide waste and recycling options for residents in the Bemboka township and surrounding localities, replacing the temporary public-place skip bin, which was previously provided as an emergency response.

“We are grateful for the patience and understanding shown by the residents of Bemboka and surrounding areas during this clean-up process, and are looking forward to a return of this service to the community,” Council’s Waste Services Manager, Alan Gundrill said.

Meanwhile, Council is still receiving bushfire waste at the Central Waste Facility by appointment from registered contractors. To date, more than 63,000 tonnes of fire affected waste has been deposited into the emergency cell since the summer bushfires.

“Although the volume of traffic coming into our Central Waste Facility has slowed considerably, we remain acutely aware there are still eligible properties registered to be cleared,” Mr Gundrill said.

“Registrations are still open as the bushfire clean-up program doesn’t currently have an end-date to opt-in.

“PWA are still managing all new registrations, ensuring no one is left behind, and that properties are cleared as quickly and as safely as possible.”

If there are still people who have been fire affected but not yet registered for the clean-up, Council recommends they contact Service NSW online or on 13 77 88, or contact the Bega Valley Recovery Support Service on 6499 2345 for more information.

Source: Bega Valley Shire Council