2019 Governor’s School STEM Awards open for applications!

2019 Governor’s School STEM Awards open for applications!

School leaders are encouraged to apply for the 2019 Governor’s School STEM Awards, a celebration of Western Australian schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) education.

The Hon. Dave Kelly MLA, Minister for Science, the Hon. Sue Ellery MLC, Minister for Education and Training, and the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia officially launched the annual awards, with applications open to all Western Australian primary and secondary schools from the public and private sectors.

Established in 2015, these awards are championed by the Honourable Kim Beazley AC, Governor of Western Australia and recognise high quality outcomes and approaches to STEM subjects that encourage enthusiasm and engaged learning for teachers, students and the school community alike.

Kalien Selby, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Scitech said, “Leaders who encourage and nurture STEM initiatives that motivate students to participate and achieve their best in STEM learning are incredibly important in developing a STEM-enabled future workforce, critical to the ongoing prosperity and sustainability of Western Australia. They can’t be applauded enough for their vital contribution, and these awards are a terrific way to celebrate their passion and commitment to inspiring their students and school community as a whole.”

In 2018, Brookman Primary School (Langford) and Warwick Senior High School were the deserved recipients of the “Leadership Excellence Award” and Perth College (Primary) and Comet Bay College received the “Meritorious Leadership Award”. In previous years, winners have included Penrhos College, St Mary’s Anglican Girls School, John Curtin College of the Arts, Rosalie Primary School and Newton Moore Senior High School.

Schools selected as finalists will be celebrated at a presentation ceremony at Government House in November. Prizes include $2000 for the “Leadership Excellence Award” and $1000 for the “Meritorious Leadership Award” for each of the primary and secondary school categories. The winning and runner- up schools will be hosted at a tour of Government House and enjoy a visit to Scitech for up to 90 students or eight weeks free rental and delivery of a Scitech DIY Science Kit.

The Governor’s School STEM Awards are delivered through a partnership between Scitech and the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation. The Awards are proudly supported by the Department of Education, Catholic Education Western Australia, Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia (AISWA), School Curriculum and Standards Authority, Science Teachers Association of Western Australia (STAWA) and the Mathematical Association of Western Australia (MAWA).

2019 applications close 10am (AWST) 19 August 2019.

Source: Scitech